Belsat journalist in top 30 women photographers under 30

Our colleague Yulia Shablouskaya with her project “They Don’t Kill Here” got into the world list of 30 women-photographers under 30 years.

This is the 11th rating from Artpil.

“Founded in 2010, the contest “30 Women Photographers under 30″ helped beginners, people in the middle of their careers, as well as some professional women photographers to get an additional exhibition and join the team among peers,” Artpil reports.

Belsat journalist Yulia Shablouskaya got into the rating with her project “They Don’t Kill Here,” which tells photo stories “about animals who didn’t become sausage”.


Фотоистория о животных, не ставших колбасой.

Photography as an additional tool

Artpil notes that Yulia’s works are primarily devoted to social issues. These are time-consuming projects in which she studies human relations and observes changes in society through the work of non-governmental organizations.

“I am honoured to be among 30 talented women photographers from around the world. And it is twice as pleasant to understand that I am the only Belarusian among the winners! I have never wanted to position myself solely as a photographer — I am a journalist, I give my voice to those who for some reason are not heard, ignored. Photography here is an additional means to attract even more people to the topics I’m talking about,” said Yulia Shablouskaya in the commentary to

Now the journalist and her colleagues are getting ready for a big research project on one of the aspects of the Soviet heritage in the regions of Belarus and Russia.

“I also sincerely believe that 2020 will give me the strength to finish work on two projects — big and very important ones for me like a book on equality in women’s football and a report on people in the crisis of homelessness, with whom we work in the project “Open Kitchen” in Warsaw,” said Yulia.

Among the winners are also young women photographers from Argentina, Georgia, USA, Ireland, Italy, China, Mexico, Germany, Poland, Romania, Russia, Slovenia, Turkey, Ukraine and France.