Lukashenka among top 10 world leaders in power the longest

Lukashenka and Putin played hockey during a break in negotiations. Photo by Mikhail Klimentyev / Kremlin.

The death of Chadian President Idriss Debbie has made Alyaksandr Lukashenka one of the world’s top 10 non-monarchical leaders by the length of their stay in power.

Idriss Déby, 68, who died on April 20, had been the head of the Republic of Chad since December 1990. He ranked eighth on the list of leaders staying the longest in power but are not monarchs.

Ranked first is Paul Biya, the 88-year-old president of Cameroon. He has been ruling his country since June 30, 1975.

President of Equatorial Guinea Teodoro Obiang comes second. He took his post on August 30, 1979.

The third place is occupied by Ali Khamenei, who headed Iran on October 13, 1981. At first, the 82-year-old politician was the country president, and then he became the supreme leader.

The top 10 also includes president of the Republic of Congo Denis Sassou Nguesso (37 years in power), Cambodian Prime Minister Hun Sen (36 years in power), Ugandan President Yoweri Museveni (35 years), de facto Supreme Leader of Kazakhstan Nursultan Nazarbayev (29 years, before he led the Kazakh SSR), Tajik President Emomali Rakhmon (28 years) and Eritrean President Isaias Afewerki (almost 28 years).

Alyaksandr Lukashenka, who first became president on July 20, 1994 – nearly 26 years and 273 days ago – completes the top 10 list.