Russia to retain embargo on European product imports in 2020

Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev has signed an executive order to continue the food embargo against some countries until December 31, 2020.

The decree was published on June 26.

Без комментариев: питерские «казаки» провели «контрсанкционный рейд» в супермаркет

The food embargo has been in force in Russia since 7 August 2014. It was introduced in response to sanctions imposed for the occupation of Crimea by the Kremlin.

The food embargo now applies to products from the United States, the European Union, Australia, Norway, Canada, Ukraine and a number of other European countries.

Россия угрожает тотальным запретом реэкспорта фруктов и овощей из Беларуси

At the same time, Russia also accuses Belarus of re-exporting products to Russia from countries that have fallen under the Kremlin’s counter-sanctions.

See also