BPF party elects new chairman

Ryhor Kastusiou has become the new chairman of the BPF party. He was elected by a majority vote on the eighteenth report-back election congress of the party in Minsk.

Besides Kastusiou the ballot had 5 more names: Illya Dabratvor Volha Damaskina, Ales Taustyka, Alyaksandr Strakh, Vasil Astrouski. Kastusiou received 107 voices of the Congress, while his main opponent Volha Damaskina had 32 votes.

Новым старшынём Партыі БНФ абраны Рыгор Кастусёў. З'езд воплескамі і споклічам "Жыве Беларусь!" вітаў новага лідэра.

Geplaatst door Партыя БНФ op zaterdag 30 september 2017

Kastusiou will succeed chairman Alyaksey Yanukevich, who has headed the BPF since 2009, but under the charter party he cannot be elected for the next term.

Among the vice-chairs of the BPF Party are now Alyaksei Yanukevich, Yury Lukashevich, Vadzim Saranchukou, Zmitser Saloshkin, Alyaksandr Straltsou.

Ryhor Kastusiou was born in 1957 in the Mahiliou region. Twice – in 2004 and 2008 – he ran for the House of Representatives. In the presidential election of 2006, he was a confidant of Alyaksandr Milinkevich. He took part in the presidential elections of 2010, where, according to the CEC, received 1.97% of the votes. From 2009 to 2017 he served as deputy chairman of the BPF Party.


See also