EU imposes sanctions against Belarusian officials and military officers

The European Union has officially published a sanctions list against Russians and Belarusians involved in the invasion of Ukraine.

Sample photo. Source: Reuters

Brussels has imposed sanctions against Belarusian and Russian officials involved in unleashing war in Ukraine. The sanctions list includes a ban on entry into the EU and freezing assets. Personal sanctions were imposed on deputies of the State Duma Russian officials, including Vladimir Putin and Sergey Lavrov.

The sanctions list also includes Belarusian military officials, including the chief of Homel Border Guard Group, Uladzislau Bruyeu; chief of Mazyr border guard unit Aleg Yeybatau; chief of Pinsk border guard unit Dzmitry Vinnikau; chief of the military unit 65408 (Luninets airfield) Alyaksandr Pashkevich, Andrey Lukyanovich, deputy commander of the Air Force and Air Defense Forces, head of aviation, Alyaksandr Kryvets, head of the air base in Lida, Yury Pyzhyk, head of the air base in Baranavichy, Uladzimir Kupryianyuk, first deputy commander of the Western Operational Command, head of headquarters and head of the Main Department of combat training Andrey Nekrashevich, Chief of the General Staff Viktar Hulevich, State Secretary of the Security Council Alyaksandr Valfovich, Deputy Defense Minister Andrey Zhuk, Deputy Defense Minister for Armaments – Chief of Armaments Syarhei Simanenka, Deputy Defense Minister – Head of Logistics Andrey Burdyka, Mikalay Rahashchuk, assistant inspector of Homel region, commander of Special Operations Forces Vadzim Dzenisionak, commander of the military unit 65408 (Luninets airfield) Alyaksandr Lazitski, commander of the Western Operational Command Ihar Dzemidzenka, chairman of the Brest Regional Executive Committee Yury Shuleyka, chairman of the Homel Regional Executive Committee Ivan Krupko.

Earlier, the U.S. imposed sanctions against the Belarusian officials.