United States extend period of sanctions against Belarusian officials

U.S. President Barack Obama has continued the term of the sanctions introduced by George Bush for a year.
On June 16, 2006 President George Bush declared a national emergency and ordered related measures blocking the property of certain persons undermining democratic processes or institutions in Belarus.
“In 2011, the Government of Belarus continued its crackdown against political opposition, civil society, and independent media. The government arbitrarily arrested, detained, and imprisoned citizens for criticizing officials or for participating in demonstrations; imprisoned at least one human rights activist on manufactured charges; and prevented independent media from disseminating information and materials. These actions show that the Government of Belarus has taken additional steps backward in the development of democratic governance and respect for human rights,” the official web site of the White House says.
“The actions and policies of certain members of the Government of Belarus and other persons to undermine Belarus democratic processes or institutions, to commit human rights abuses related to political repression, and to engage in public corruption continue to pose an unusual and extraordinary threat to the national security and foreign policy of the United States,” Barack Obama explains the reasons for his determination.
As it was reported before, in 2006 the USA sanctioned ten Belarusian officials: Aliaksandr Lukashenka (President), Viktar Lukashenka (President Assistant), Nataliya Petkevich (at that time – Deputy Head of President’s administration), Lidziya Yarmoshyna (Central Election Commission Chairman), Viktar Sheyman (at that time – PA for special missions), Dzmitry Paulichenka (at that time – special police commander), Viktar Halavanau (at that time – Minister of Justice), Aliaksandr Zimouski (at that time – Head of the national state teleradio company), Uladzimir Navumau (at that time – Minister of Interior), Stsiapan Sukharenka (at that time – Chairman of KGB).
American companies are prohibited from doing deals with the persons above.
See also