Belarus, Russia completing joint database of travel banned citizens

In early April, the Interior Ministries of Belarus and Russia will finish making a joint list of the citizens who are not allowed to leave the territory of the two countries, Alyaksei Byahun, Head of Belarus’ Citizenship and Migration Department, said on Tuesday.

According to the top official, the Belarusian side has already received a list of the persons whose right to leave Russia is limited. At the moment, the records from the two databases are being brought together and integrated.

“We have started sharing the relevant data with Russia. The work should be finished by April 1,” state-run news agency BelTA quotes Byahun.

As reported earlier, the two countries were also set to update the joint list of the citizens who are denied entry to Belarus and Russia.

In October 2019, Deputy Interior Minister Ivan Padhurski said that around 1,142,000 records were on the list of foreigners whose entering Belarus is forbidden or undesirable; most of them (about a million) were added by Russia. More than 138,000 people were put on the list by the Belarusian authorities, including the KGB – 15,000, the State Border Committee – 7,000.

Belarus and Russia to have joint travel ban list