Abkhazia introduces visas for Belarusians over non-recognition of independence?

Starting April 1, Belarusians and citizens of other CIS countries will be able to visit Abkhazia only after obtaining a visa. Such a step might have been triggered by the discontent with Belarus’ line: our country has never recognized the independence of the puppet state.

“The law ‘On the exit and entry from/to the Republic of Abkhazia’ which is to come into force on April 1, has a number of amendments. According to one of them, only citizens of countries that have recognized the independence of our country and signed an agreement on mutual visa-free travel will be able to enter Abkhazia without a visa,” Valery Bganba,  the speaker of the Abkhazian parliament, stated.

 For the moment, only the Russian Federation, Venezuela, Nicaragua and another puppet state – South Ossetia – have recognized the independence Abkhazia. The agreement on visa-free regime has been ratified by Russia and Nicaragua. As Abkhazia used to maintain a visa regime with most countries, the introduction will touch the citizens of Armenia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Moldova, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan and Ukraine.

Despite the pressure of Russia, Belarus has not recognized the independence of Abkhazia and still considers it part of Georgia.

Thus, there is only a month and half to visit the separatist Georgian region without a visa. One can plan a trip singlehandedly or with the help of Belarusian travel agencies. The prices for package tours to Abkhazia range from Br 2.5 to 32 mln.


See also