30 years since adopting Declaration of State Sovereignty

On 27 July 1990, the Supreme Soviet passed the Declaration of State Sovereignty of the Byelorussian Soviet Socialist Republic.

A year later, in August 1991, Belarus officially proclaimed its independence; the declaration acquired the status of a constitutional law and remained in force until 15 March 1994, the date of adoption of the Constitution of the Republic of Belarus.

During this period of time, the country changed its official name, got back historical state symbols (the emblem Pahonya and the white-red-white flag), approved the new Constitution and elected its first president.

However, on theback of the 1996 referendum initiated by president Alyaksandr Lukashenka, July 3, the day of liberation of the Belarusian capital from German invaders, became the official Independence Day of the republic.

Lukashenka on Independence Day: No one from outside able to shake stability in Belarus