US and UK impose sanctions for recognition of LNR and DNR

Western countries have condemned Russia’s recognition of the LNR and DNR independence and have already started to impose sanctions for this.

Joe Biden. Photo: A.P.

According to the decree of U.S. President Biden, new investments in the DNR and LNR, imports to the United States from them, and the sale or supply of any goods, services, and technology to these regions by persons from the United States and so on are prohibited.

The U.S. Department of the Treasury has been instructed to prepare a list of individuals whose assets will be blocked in the U.S. and banned from entering the country. The list should include companies operating in the territories of the LNR and DNR and their management.

The sanctions are introduced in addition to the supposed package of strict measures prepared in case Russia invades Ukraine.

Meanwhile, British Prime Minister Boris Johnson told Ukrainian President Volodymyr Zelensky that London had already developed sanctions against those involved in violating Ukraine’s territorial integrity and that these measures would come into force on February 22. Johnson also said that he would consider further defensive support for Ukraine.

The heads of the European Commission and the European Council also called Russia’s recognition of the DNR and LNR a violation of international law and Ukraine’s territorial integrity.

“The Union will respond with sanctions against those involved in this illegal act,” the joint statement said.

The U.N. and NATO representatives and heads of individual countries (Poland, Latvia, France, Canada, Italy, Germany, Georgia, Moldova, Denmark, Estonia, Austria, and others) also condemned Russia’s actions in Ukraine. Syria, Nicaragua, Cuba, Venezuela, unrecognized Abkhazia, South Ossetia, and the Yemeni Houthis supported the independence of the LNR and DNR.