PACE delegation arrives in Minsk to assess political climate before presidential election

Delegation of the Parliamentary Assembly of the Council of Europe has started its visit to Belarus.

The delegation consisting of five members headed by Turkish Deputy Reha Denemec. The delegation also includes MPs Gunnarson Jonas (Sweden), Marie-Luise Beck (Germany), Andrey Gunko (Germany) and Andrea Rigoni (Italy), reports.

Previously it was assumed that the delegation would include six members of the Assembly, and it would be headed by Armenian MP Arpine Hovhannisyan. However, as learned from the press service of PACE, on September 4 Hovhannisyan was appointed Minister of Justice of Armenia, thta is why the delegation had to change the format.

On September 8-9, PACE delegation will meet with the chairmen of both chambers of the National Assembly, Minister of Foreign Affairs Uladzimir Makey and Chairman of the Central Election Commission Lidziya Yarmoshyna. PACE members will also meet with key actors of the presidential election campaign or their representatives, leaders of the opposition, the leader of BTRC, representatives of the media.

Visit of PACE will last until 10 September, and a month later the PACE delegation consisting of 11 persons will return to Belarus to observe the elections on the day of voting.,

See also