Bialiatski, Statkevich, Lobau, Snowden among Sakharov Prize nominees

According to Polish MEP Marek Migalski, they have been nominated for prestigious Sakharov Prize which is awarded every year by the European Parliament to honour defenders of human rights and freedom of expression.

The Sakharov Prize for Freedom of Thought, named in honor of the Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov, has been awarded by the European Parliament every year since 1988 to individuals or organizations that have made an important contribution to the fight for human rights or democracy. The prize is accompanied by an award of €50,000. Nominations must obtain the support of at least 40 MEPs or that of a political group.

The European People’s Party, European Conservatives and the Alliance of Liberals and Democrats for Europe are known to have nominated Malala Yousafzai, a Pakistani schoolgirl and education activist, who became a symbol of fighting for women’s and children’s rights in Islamic countries. On October 9, 2012 Yousafzai was shot in the head and neck in an assassination attempt by Taliban gunmen while returning home on a school bus. After rehabilitation the girl continues her studies in Great Britain.

In their turn, the environmental groups have settled on Edward Snowden, who disclosed secret information about secret services’ control over Inrernet users.

The final laureate’s name will be known in October; the prize award ceremony is to be held in EP plenary in Strasbourg.


See also